Doroghazi Eagle Scout Awards Announced


Columbia, Mo – Boy Scouts of America Great Rivers Council and Dr. Robert Doroghazi, MD, FACC, have announced this year’s Doroghazi Eagle Scout Award winners. The intent of this award is to recognize and reward Eagle Scouts for their hard work, thrift, and continued success as they enter adult life. Preference is given to those who will be tomorrow’s leaders in Business, Science, Finance, Engineering and the professions of Medicine & Law, and who have served in the Armed Forces.


The Doroghazi Eagle Scout Awards are 3 Awards of $10,000 each given to young men who have earned their Eagle Scout in the Great Rivers Council.

This year’s recipients are:
      1) Jordan Occena graduated valedictorian from Hickman High School and was a National Merit Scholar. He attended the University of Tulsa on a Presidential Scholarship and graduated Phi Beta Kappa. He is pursuing a PhD from the University of Michigan in Material Science and Engineering.
      2) Andrew Turner graduated valedictorian of Southern Boone County High School and was a National Merit Scholar. He graduated valedictorian from Harvey Mudd College and is currently pursuing a PhD in Theoretical Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
      3) James Weagley graduated Hickman High School and was elected to the National Honor Society. He graduated summa cum laude with Distinction from the University of Minnesota and is pursuing a PhD in Molecular Genetics and Genomics from Washington University. 

The Great Rivers Council will recognize and award the recipients at a dinner on August 12. Tickets are available by contacting the Council office.


The Great Rivers Council, Boy Scouts of America serves 33 counties in central and north east Missouri and serves over 5,000 young people in 250 Cub Scout packs, Boy Scout troops, Venturing crews, and Explorer posts.